# 2770 Sweet Talk


Q. During the production of maple syrup, the sap is boiled down to produce syrup, and often, certain (potentially non-Kosher) de-foaming agents are added. If boiled by a non-Jew, is there an issue of Bishul Akum in the production of maple syrup? Additionally, if a small amount (much less than 1/60th of the volume of syrup) of non-Kosher de-foaming agent is added by a non-Jew, would there be a concern of Bittul Issur Lechatchila, and should one avoid eating this syrup because of it?
Thank you!
A. Horav Shlomo Miller’s Shlit’a opinion is that as far as Bishul Akum is concerned the maple syrup can usually be consumed raw and it is likely not an item commonly served at royal banquets.
Regarding the kashrus of additives, and if they are items that change the consistency and properties of the product and therefore do not become annulled, a reliable kashrus authority familiar with this particular brand and how it is produced should be consulted, since methods of production change from place to place.
COR’s Most Frequently Asked Questions mentions: “Maple Syrup and Maple Sugar should have kosher certification as anti-foams are commonly added and they might be packed with the same machinery as non-kosher products. ”
Rabbi A. Bartfeld as advised by Horav Shlomo Miller and Horav Aharon Miller Shlit’a


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.