Q. Someone who has a very strict diet and he cannot consume any foods that contain sugar, can he deep the apple on Rosh Hashana on a pareve cream that contains sweetener instead of honey and say the Yehi Ratzon for a sweet year?
A. On question 216 regarding someone that has an allergy reaction to pollen and was advised to stay away from bee honey, if he use date honey or maple syrup on Rosh Hashanah, we wrote:
“Throughout the Torah, honey by and large refers to date honey (see Rashi Vaikra 2:11-12, Talmud Kesuvos 111b, Mechilta 13:5), however, as Rashi (ibid.) points out: Any sweet fruit extract is called honey. Nevertheless, some Poiskim write that the preferred honey on Rosh Hashonoh night is bee honey (Nitey Gavriel Rosh Hashono 28:9 quoting Leket Yosher and Midrash Pinchas). Ben Ish Chai (Nitzavim 4) maintains an opposite opinion. Bees, he says, represent Din or judgement since they sting, so date honey or other fruit sweeteners are preferred. Leket Yosher, argues back that bee honey represents the transformation of Din into sweetness.
Horav Shlomo Miller’s Shlit”a opinion is that if bee honey is to be avoided, one should use date honey. If that is not an option, maple syrup or any other sweet fruit essence is acceptable. In their lack one may use even regular sugar.”
In our case Horav Shlomo Miller’s Shlit’a opinion is that in need he can use artificial sweetener.
Rabbi A. Bartfeld as advised by Horav Shlomo Miller and Horav Aharon Miller Shlit’a