Q. Can one that disinfected his hands with the commonly used hand sanitizer that contains glycerin and ethanol touch food, without any concern of kashruth?
A. Glycerin is a sugar alcohol derived from animal products, plants or petroleum. Glycerin is kosher if it is made from kosher vegetable oil or petroleum and processed on kosher equipment. A lot of glycerin is made from animal fat, processed on the same equipment as animal glycerin or made from used oil from non-kosher establishments, rendering the glycerin non-kosher. Glycerin or any product containing glycerin can only be used with acceptable kosher certification.
Horav Shlomo Miller’s Shlit’a opinion is that since the glycerin used in the hand sanitizer solution has been rendered inedible by being mixed with other ingredients and besides one is not eating it, there should not be any concern for the minimal amount that may transfer from the hands to the kosher food. (See also question 3101 in regard to Pesach use)
Rabbi A. Bartfeld as advised by Horav Shlomo Miller Shlit’a and Horav Aharon Miller Shlit’a